SAMMYS 2020 Press Conference at The Palace Theater

A Big CNY Alive Congratulations to all of the 2020 Syracuse Area Music Awards Nominees and Hall of Fame Inductees

Below is the list of the 2020 Syracuse Area Music Awards Nominees and Hall of Fame Inductees.
A press kit is available, which includes pictures, bios and more information. A complete list of all previous SAMMY winners can be found on our Past Recipients page.

Hall of Fame

Moss Back Mule Band

Tim Fox

Seth Marcel

Judy Mareiniss

Music Educator:
Casey Vanderstouw

Lifetime Achievement:
Garland Jeffreys

Best Pop

Stephen Phillips
Big Eyes & Rosy Cheeks

Jenna Cunningham
Seizing Self

Best Hip-Hop or Rap

Slick Fashion 2

315 CA$H
A Rough Start#RELOADED


The Real Raw Breed
No Excuse

MBK Richy

Best Americana

Mike Powell
The Full Nelson: Live at the Odeon

The Ripcords
Last Dance

Coffee & Beer

Off the Ground
Cleared for Takeoff

Ghost Town Ramblers
Outlaw Highway

Best Alternative

Late Earth
Eleventh Hour

Keep Up
Up In Flames

The Action!
20 Years Alive

Mandate of Heaven
Least Concern

Devinne Meyers
Silver Line

Best Rock

Atkins Riot
Too Much Whisky

Underwater Bosses
Aqua La Vista

Chris Eves and the New Normal
One Spark

Slow Train
In Between

Mike Powell & The Black River
Gypsy Winnebago

Ronnie Dark

Best Hard Rock

Kris Wiechmann
The Heaviest Tenderness

Cry to the Blind
Deliver Me

Ecliptic Vision
Ecliptic Vision

Murder in Rue Morgue
Endless Cycles

My Abyss

Best Other Style

Mark Nanni
Towns & Spaces In Between

Josh Dekaney
All the Americas

Leo Crandall & Hymie Withthoft
Unknowable & Studding Thing

Spotlight Studios
A Holiday Spotlight

O’Connor & Dunn
Which Way to Neverland?

Best Jam Band

Big Sexy & The Scrambled Eggs
Road Less Traveled


Best Singer/Songwriter

Dale Randall
All the Love I Know

Andrew VanNorstrand
That We Could Find a Way to Be

Cam Caruso
Up Above & Down Below

Sydney Irving
The Greene EP

Jeffrey Pepper Rodgers
Live and Listening

Best Blues

Sean McLeod
Harriet Tubman Freedom Music Festival-Live! Vol. 4

King Kool and His Royal Blues
Train Wreck

Diana Jacobs
What She Needs

Chris Terra Band
Lady Luck

Earl Slick & The West Side Social Club
The West Side Social Club

Best R&B

Gary Carpentier

Barroom Philosophers
Digital Demise


Alani Skye
Alani Skye

Best Country

The Cadleys
Duets & Ballards

Whiskey Hollow Rush
True Stories

Jon Rogalia
A Little Too Country

Emalee Herrington
Plans Change

D. Dusk Rogers
Pounded Down By Christmas

Best Jazz

London McDaniel

Melissa Gardiner

Best Electronica

Ruby C.
Ruby C.

Empires in Orbit
Doom City Limits & Singles

Founder’s Award

James ‘Saul’ Brown
Rick Linzy
Hollis ‘Larry’ Mathis
Isaac Wynn

Jack O Bocchino Spirit of the Sammys Award

Marge Nolan

Submission and Judging Process

SAMMY awards are given based on the judgment of submissions sent by mail to the SAMMYS Board by musicians in Syracuse and the surrounding area. An independent panel of music industry professionals and educators from around the country, led by James Abbott, review the submissions and make their selections based on their merit and their genre.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.